The Manitoba Ozone Protection Industry Association

Board of Directors Nominations / Candidates

Nominations Committee Report

For MOPIA's 26th Annual General Meeting

22nd October 2020



Committee Representatives:

MOPIA's Nominations Committee consists of the following individuals:

Meghan Skorodenski, Chairperson for the Committee (Past Chair, MOPIA) Kirk Esau, Member of the Board of Directors John Kubilansk, Member of the Board of Directors (Current Chair) Mark Miller, Executive Director (Administrative Support)

Process:

Corporate Bylaws - Number of Directors

MOPIA's Bylaws specify there must be a minimum of **7** Directors and a maximum of **21** with reserved representation from certain sectors. A key role of the nominations process is to diversify the Board composition amongst the sectors affected by the ODS regulation.

MOPIA's original AGM meeting date was set for April 22, 2020. Due to Covid-19, this meeting was postponed. And, hope that the quota on persons assembling would be eased, MOPIA held off setting a new date until late summer, to a new date of October 22, 2020. MOPIA has kept our stakeholders aware via our monthly Bulletins and via direct email to our **44** steward members. was issue and our stakeholders were notified through release of our Bulletins issued January and by declaration on our website. All our steward (voting) members who do not have email were sent the official notification of our 26th AGM via first class mail.

Included in the information package were the following:

- Notice of the 26th Annual General Meeting
- A Nomination Form for a Board of Directors Position
- Appropriate contact information on the various forms

There was one proxy received by voting member(s) in good standing for use by Mr. Botho Kramer at the 26th AGM (as at October 19, 2020).

Board of Director's Nominations:

As of October 19th, 2020 there were five (5) written or expressed Board nominations received. Of those expressing interest for consideration on MOPIA's Board, all meet the eligibility requirements. These candidates include:

Mr. Laverne Dalgleish

Mr. Don Thomson

Mr. Botho Kramer

Mr. Michael Blackey

Ms. Janice Braga (new candidate – from Gerdau, Selkirk)

These candidates continue to compliment a range of our ODS sectors with representation from most ODS sectors except truck transport and agriculture air conditioning. Moreover, the MOPIA will endeavour to make contact with potential representatives from these sectors to see if a future board member could be identified. Further, it is recommended that MOPIA continue to encourage comprehensive industry participation.

It is recognized that the Board o	f Directors has	the ability und	ler the corporate	Bylaws to ap	point
members beyond the confines o	f the AGM and	therefore if a	member from the	ese sectors c	omes
forward the Board may consider	appointing that	person(s) to th	ne board.		

Not seeking Nomination/re-election

We thank Jeff Hillock (MacDon) and Peter Creran (PureSphera) for their volunteerism representing the Ag implement manufacturing (air conditioning installation) and white goods processing sectors with MOPIA.

Directors remaining until the 26th AGM (2020)

John Kubilanski Meghan Skorodenski Kirk Esau Kent Cielen

Respectfully submitted,

Meghan Skorodenski Committee Chair